“Houshang Amiri is not only a world-class coach, he also cares deeply about each and every person he coaches.”
- Erin Carter
cycling, athlete, willock, amiri

Press Releases

Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor Cycling Team Season Kick-off Training Camp

(Victoria, BC – March 10, 2015) Pacific Cycling Centre (PCC), Victoria, BC, will be hosting the season kick-off training camp for the Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor Cycling Team from March 13 – 15. On Saturday, March 14 at 10 am the team 2015 clothing will be unveiled at PCC, 100, 4636 Elk Lake Drive (PISE location at Commonwealth Pool), prior to the team’s endurance ride.

The team – consisting of 10 talented cyclists between U17 and U23, including Canadian National Team Member Evan Carey – was re-launched in November 2014 with the goal to compete on Vancouver Island, BC’s Lower Mainland and eventually, nationally and internationally. The main focus for the team in 2015 is the Provincial Championships in Penticton BC and track provincials in Victoria. They will also be racing in the USA, and at Nationals (USA nationals and Canadian). Over the winter most of the riders have been in PCC programs undergoing regular testing and evaluation to get them ready for the upcoming season. Head Coach Houshang Amiri coaches most of the riders and they get mentorship opportunities with PCC elite riders.

“At Pacific Cycling Centre we are pleased to partner with Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor Cycling Team, in developing this exceptional group of talented riders,” said Amiri, noted National, Olympic, and UCI Coach. “In the past few months a great deal of work has been done by team management to create opportunities for training and racing for these upcoming riders across BC and Canada. They have the potential to be future champions and Olympians. At PCC we would like thank you all our sponsors who came on board to support this young team. “

“We at Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor Cycling Team are pleased to unleash the 10 youth athletes and all of our sponsor products on to the road as one unit,” says Team Manager, Ryan Arbuckle. “We know they are all itching to make their mark for this up and coming season and we can't wait to help them do just that on and off the bike! Finally thank you to all of our sponsors who have made this possible.”

The team consists of: Alex Grant (Victoria), Brodie Hay (Parksville), Callie Swan (Prince George), Chris Macleod (Victoria), Evan Carey (Victoria), Erik Diertens (Victoria), James Graham (Victoria), Jessica Reynolds (Comox), Mel Pemble (Victoria), and Rachel Carey (Victoria).

Members of the team are already producing impressive results – Evan Carey won a Gold Medal in the Team Sprint at the 2015 Track Nationals; Rachel Carey won Gold in the U17 Team Sprint in the 2014 Track Nationals, and Chris Macleod won Gold in the Junior Men’s Team Pursuit in the 2014 Track Nationals.

Dr. Walker Chiropractor Cycling Team would like to thank the team sponsors: Pacific Cycling Centre, Code Performance Wear, Marin Bikes California, Dux Helm Helmets, Energy Lab Sports, Kerry J. Blain Inc, Chartered Accountant, Kissanya Arbuckle Photography, BB Physio Schwalbe Tires North America, Mortgage Designers at Mortgage Architects, Hub International Barton Insurance, and Fort Street Cycle.

- 30 -

For more information contact:

Ryan Arbuckle, Team Manager



The Dr. Walker Sports Chiropractor Cycling Team was originally formed in 1995 and has included the best track cyclists, road cyclists and triathletes in Canada for nearly two decades. The team has always been an inclusive team - youth development (U15 - U23) and para development has always been promoted. Notable former members of the team have included world land speed record holder Sam Whittingham, Tyler Hansen (National Champion), Keith Bruneau, Murray Solem, Dale Marat, Andre Steinhausen, Michele Voigt (US Olympian), Luca Segato, Mike and Chris Lamb, Tony Zarsadias, Ross Hooker, the Worsfeld twins, Ryan Clarke, Vinko Poldugrovac, Matt Barlee, Matt Chater, Mike Chandler, Chris Anstey, Mike Cooper, James Holtz, Ryan Arbuckle (former Multi Para National Champion), Breanna Loster, and Sarah Kirby. Major accomplishments of the team include being the first and only team to ever sweep the medals in every men’s event at the BC Provincial Track Championships and win Gold and Silver in every women's event in 1998; five Para National Championship titles and a 3rd place overall at the 2007 Para Track World Championships. In road racing the team won the Tour of Delta, the Tour of White Rock, the Gastown Grand Prix Criterium (twice), and the Bastion Square Grand Prix several times. https://www.facebook.com/DrWalkerCycling


Pacific Cycling Centre provides coaching services for Elite, Masters, and Junior athletes in road, mountain bike, track, and cyclo-cross. Pacific Cycling Centre’s former name, National Cycling Centre was established after the 1994 Commonwealth Games in Victoria. Under Head Coach Houshang Amiri, the Centre created the most successful training environment in Canada. Amiri has coached numerous athletes to World Championships, Commonwealth Games and Olympic Games in road, mountain bike track and Paralympics disciplines, notably Svein Tuft, Erinne Willock, Roland Green, and Brian Cowie. Amiri has won numerous coaching excellence awards and achieved the highest level of coaching certification in Canada for cycling. He is in high demand as a UCI Coach, visiting countries to deliver Level 2 coaching courses, in keeping with the IOC and UCI’s commitment to develop the sport of cycling world-wide. In 2014 PCC athletes won 17 Track Nationals and Provincial Championship medals including three National champion titles and five Provincial Champion titles. www.pacificcyclingcentre.ca


cycling, athlete, willock, amiri
cycling, athlete, willock, amiri
November 30, 2018
PCC wins Cycling BC Awards
more >
cycling, athlete, willock, amiri
October 05, 2018
PCC athletes podium at Nationals
more >
cycling, athlete, willock, amiri

National Team Riders and coaches at the 2008 Olympics

cycling, athlete, willock, amiri
cycling, athlete, willock, amiri

Clinton Robert Avery (New Zealand) & Max Plaxton